Donna Tūkāriri has served her community over many years through her involvement in organisations such as the Ngāwhā Marae Trustee Komiti and Ngāpuhi Iwi Social Services.

She currently works for Te Rūnanga-Ā-Iwi-Ō-Ngāpuhi. While part of the Ngāwhā Marae Trustee Komiti Donna had extensive involvement with Top Energy in relation to the recently completed Ngāwhā geothermal power station extension project (OEC4).

Donna was closely involved with receiving the ancient swamp kauri log recently gifted to Ngāwhā Marae by Top Energy. The log has recently been identified as contributing to international understanding of environmental changes which occurred about 42,000 years ago. You can view the video here:

Trustee positions are filled, from a shortlist, by a Selection Panel comprising Kelvin Davis (MP for Te Tai Tokerau), Willow-Jean Prime (MP for Northland) and Penny Smart (Chair, Northland Regional Council). Nominations were called for the three positions late last year and those appointed by the Panel began their four year term on 1 April 2021.

The three trustees appointed by the Panel join the continuing trustees, Bruce Mathieson and Ken Rintoul. The five Trustees represent the 31,000 consumers connected to Top Energy’s network and are responsible for appointing the directors of Top Energy, assessing their performance and annually negotiating a Statement of Corporate Intent which sets out the objectives of the Company.

The trustees have previously considered the request from Top Energy to approve the business case for the construction of OEC4, a Major Transaction involving nearly $200m, probably the largest investment in the Far North in recent memory.

For more information please contact Philippa White 021 241 8740